Where It All Began
The Elm’s building is named for the trees which once lined all of Main Street, East Greenwich. According to local folklore the building has been a tavern from it’s beginnings, c.1880.
It is historically recorded as being a 2 ½ story tavern with a hotel on the upper floor. The rooms still remain and are now commercial offices. In those days East Greenwich was a productive farm town and a booming fishing center.
The tavern is remembered as a men’s only establishment. The rumor is that there is a slave escape tunnel somewhere in the building leading to the waterfront. The tunnel has not yet been found. Curiously, the broken headstone of Ella Bateman was found in our basement. She died at the age of 17 years, two months and two days. One of our burgers is named after Ella.
The original tavern spanned from the front porch to the north side of the bar where the steal beam is now. In the 1980’s it was joined with the dwelling to it’s south which is now the private room, bathrooms and handicapped entrance. House infused liquors and tinctures, a knack for creativeness, and a wine list to explore over and over again make the drink list just as unique and creative as the room it is in.